the hole has filling

26 Oct

Yeah, so that crazy gap where I didn’t post–well, I made things. One of the most recent things involves a gouache portrait book including one of the people that made me want to join the radio station. She’s incredibly smart within the realm of physics but knows her music enough to make all the dudes out there jizz themselves. Excuse my language. anyway, I have good news and bad news.

The bad news is that I couldn’t make it to Octopus Project & Enon. I bought my tickets a week in advance but somehow my retarded mind didn’t prepare for my test a week in advance. I ended up spending last night studying (which paid off). okay, so maybe I wouldn’t have had immense fun according to one of my friends who went–but the pictures could have been great! I am as perturbed as anyone; I’m starting to think my school is rather perverse, or maybe I just suck at balancing the music-art-academic triumvirate which completely owns my life. The good news, you will be glad to hear, is much greater in magnitude than the bad news. tomorrow night shall be spent in sober preparation of studying for the test to legitimize my presence at the radio station….which means I can have ridiculous access to music. I can’t share it all with you, no. But I can pass out some gems not dictated by popular blog music–they are simply musical discovery whether they be new or old! not necessarily “hip”, no femur but definitely some Head of Femur.
I don’t know what to do now except give you my favorite songs of the moment by two very incredible musicians who are hitting the ‘burgh incredibly soon. If you are out there GO SEE THEM, do it! do it! John K. Sampson of the Weakerthans and Phil Elverum of Mount Eerie (formerly known as the Microphones) here:

the Microphones — the Moon [from the glow, pt. 2] coming on October 30th to Garfield artworks
the Weakerthans — Night Windows [from Reunion Tour] coming on October 27th to Mr. Small’s

I am so awful at going to shows that I can’t say I’m going to see both of them but luckily the next week will be forgiving so I can catch one. Also I would like to point out that I haven’t posted music since July 25th. What kind of music blog is this, you wonder? the one where I wonder the same thing.

One Response to “the hole has filling”

  1. mk December 21, 2007 at 9:57 pm #

    I just saw Octopus Project in LA last month. They’re the only band I like that rock the Theramin.
    I’ll update my blog soon… Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

