some concert reviews

18 Jan

Wow, way overdue, I know! ok, so these past couple of days I was lucky enough to catch Steve Goldberg and the Walkmen (albeit I did miss a few classes in the process but it was worth it). Before I talk about that though I’d like to plug Renee’s We Are Scientists website, which I designed the header and the link banners for. She has some new promo photos as well as the “After Hours” video so you should check it out!

TUESDAY:

I got to see Steve Goldberg and the Arch Enemies play, which was very fun and wonderful, although Steve’s voice was a little drowned out on some of the louder songs. Ezra Furman opened for him, and Murder Mystery played after them. All three bands were fantastic, but Murder Mystery had this song called “Love Astronaut” that sounded so much like Magnetic Fields it killed me. Some shots (the lighting at garfield artworks is non-existent):


Steve Goldberg & Co.


Murder Mystery


Ezra Furman & the Harpoons

WEDNESDAY:

The night after I headed on over to Diesel to take pictures for Triggers. They played a really vicious set, very dancey, but the crowd was quite thin and nobody really moved…which I guess is okay for me as a photographer but still disappointing. After them, the White Rabbits played, and they were everything I expected. They played most everything off of Fort Nightly and then some. They also played some eerie-sounding piano interims. Lastly, the Walkmen came on to many cheers and whistles. They played stuff mainly from A Hundred Miles Off, but also some songs from Bows + Arrows, like “Little House of Savages” and “Thinking of a Dream I Had”. For the encore they played “We’ve Been Had” which was awesome. I asked Peter Bauer, their keyboardist, afterward why they hadn’t played “The Rat” and they said they were pretty much sick of playing that one, which is sad, but whatever. Anyway, here are some of my favorite shots of the night:

Triggers

White Rabbits

The Walkmen

2 Responses to “some concert reviews”

  1. Andrea February 2, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    These pictures are great. What kind of camera do you use?

  2. gigawave February 2, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    thanks, I use a nikon d40, but lens is really bad for low light so I need to get a new one…

Leave a Reply

