white rabbits + the main drag + ex-boyfriends

23 Jan

FORT NIGHTLY

The White Rabbits’ debut album is the best thing I have heard since I listened to The Boggs. They are what you would get if you mashed up Beirut and the Walkmen. Despite the fact that their songs are incredibly upbeat, they still sound a bit sinister. Everything about them with the exception of their bassist, comes in twos. They have two drummers, two vocalists, two guitarist, and twice as much enthusiasm as any band could possibly have. There is nothing sloppy about this album—every song is clean and layered, not a sloppy riff or piano stroke exists. I love every song on this album, except maybe March of the Camels. I don’t even know what to say, I’m pretty flustered with infatuation.

recommended tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 11
sounds like: robbers on high street, the strokes

DOWNLOAD:
The Plot
While We Go Dancing

YOURS AS FAST AS MINE

When I first heard The Main Drag, I thought they were just another addition to the whole punk-pop genre. After listening to the whole album, I can safely say that was a hasty judgment. The first track uses a marching band percussion element paired with some xylophone to hold up the beautiful anthem they sing. The title tracks rolls full throttle into some western riffs via lap steel and demonstrates the same ballad skills as the first song, punctuating that with a delicate violin accompaniment. Although I don’t really like their single, I can see why they picked it, as it is the most accessible song on the album.

recommended tracks: 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8
sounds like: hellogoodbye, tokyo police club

DOWNLOAD:
Swine Houses
What’s Yr Favorite Dinosaur?

IN WITH

The Ex-Boyfriends are straight outta the 90’s. I can’t listen to them and not feel like I’m stuck swimming in some terrible time warp. With that being said, there are still tracks on the album which are very enjoyable. I think their vocals work much better on the slower tracks—on the fast songs it just sounds really annoying and nasally. The song “Situation” is a great example where their vocalist expertly controls his sound in order to set up a very atmospheric track. “The Sound of Music” works in the same line of creativity; the song starts with a bassline that evokes Smashing Pumpkins, and then progresses to the chorus with some well placed “oh oh’s.” My favorite song on the record has to be “Saving Face” though, because it really sums up their sound without containing any hackneyed elements. It also incorporates fast and slow elements without sounding bad. Although I wouldn’t buy this album, I’d probably go see them live.

recommended tracks: 3, 4, 7, 9, 10
sounds like: foo fighters, greenday

DOWNLOAD:
Situation
Saving Face

3 Responses to “white rabbits + the main drag + ex-boyfriends”

  1. starbright31 January 23, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    I really like those White Rabbits tracks. I’ve gotta get a copy of that album now.

  2. air media alistair February 19, 2008 at 8:22 am #

    A nice blog to read. And since i am on my travels on the internet i thought i would post a reply and say hello.

    sweep Jingles and production effects
    are all good and all this can be found from our website.

    Dj jingles, radio jingles, sweeper jingles, production music, news sounders, effects

    Air Media
    http://www.air-media.co.uk

  3. lee December 13, 2008 at 8:05 pm #

    Hey! I listen to The Main Drag! Check out this awesome interview I did with them: http://cutandsewn.com/word/2008/12/13/cut-sewn-talks-to-the-main-drag/

Leave a Reply

