Ra Ra Riot

7 Feb

The Ra Ra Riot show tuesday night blew my socks off. I felt amazed that a band that has been playing together for only two years could craft songs that are not just emotionally evocative, but also sporting beats which moved my feet and hips at a frenetic pace–so much so that I felt loathe to take pictures. I wanted to close my eyes and just let the music wash over. Of course, if I did that I would not have seen their incredible charisma on stage: each band member played their instruments so passionately, whether it be cello, violin, tambourine, keyboard, bass or guitar. Their chemistry together guided them all over the stage. The Garfield Artworks stage is small enough that it could be quite cramped for six people, but they made it their home. Their movement, in tandem with the bright colors of their instruments and clothes was quite jubilant. I was smiling the whole night. If Ra Ra Riot come to your town, don’t miss them. Here are a few of my favorite shots. I took about fifty, you can check them out at my flickr, which is linked at the side of this age.

I missed Science is Dead’s set, but they are playing a show with Life in Bed at the Frick Arts Building at Pitt on the 16th (that’s a Saturday), so I’ll be there shooting. If I didn’t meet you Tuesday, come on out to this show and say hi. It should be pretty stellar

One Response to “Ra Ra Riot”

  1. Aaron Jentzen February 8, 2008 at 6:07 pm #

    Definitely a good time at the show — your photos turned out great!

Leave a Reply

