Archive | 5:43 am

anniversary

12 Jul

Me reviewing my photo during Human Eye set, photo taken by John Bodnar, 2009

July 11th was Gigawave’s three-year anniversary, which also marked the day that Turbo Fruits return to the Replay Lounge this year. Therefore, one of the songs off Echo Kid starts out the mix. I originally made this mix as a birthday present to myself, but it’s been a hectic week so I kept forgetting to post it until now.

A mish-mash of my favorite songs, songs relating to summer or partying, and songs relating to, well, aging.


<

Turbo Fruits

played a fun set tonight. Not too savvy with their discography but they played “Get Up and Get Down,” “Mama’s Mad Cos I Fried My Brain,” “Trouble” and maybe “Broadzilla”–all from Echo Kid–and then some other songs I didn’t recognize. Some highlights of my crowd experience include one young gentleman who made the semi-vacant Replay Lounge (not really, because the patio was still bumpin’) his own personal living room through interpretive dance; it was especially fun to watch during Mini Mansions’ set. Always cool to see dudes who let all their quirks hang out, even if I can’t completely get into their moves, haha.


© Mahsa Borhani, 2010

I imagine that the show I missed in March would have been more of an adrenaline rush–much like Echo Kid is–but the band didn’t let the attendance tonight faze them. The chemistry on stage between the members and their pleasure in playing the songs never wavered, and in turn, this allowed them to sweat out some psyched out & amorphous tunes towards the end of the set without missing a beat. The guys will be returning to these parts on September 30th to play at RecordBar with Those Darlins.

At the show, I also met Patrice Jackson, another local photographer who’s quite good with film. She cut a rug with me to a few songs, which was a blessing since the dancing woke me up enough that I could drive home tonight safely. You can check out her work here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/patricej/, and if you’re into Shmacebook, this is her page: Patrice Jackson Photography